yoga poses to balance chakra

Best Yoga Poses for Balancing Your Chakras

The word “chakra” is of Sanskrit origin and means circle. Chakras are considered the centers of energy within every human body.

Balanced chakras bring quality into our life, our senses get sharper, and those small joys of life begin to gain much greater significance for us.

Yoga Poses to Balance Your Chakras

Yoga poses (asanas) are a great way to cleanse and balance the chakras, so here are some of them.

First Chakra: Muladhara – Root chakra

Muladhara chakra represents the base, the support, and is located in the pelvic area.

Yoga poses for balancing this chakra are:

  • Child’s pose
  • Bridge pose
  • Half Bridge pose
  • Garland pose

Root Chakra Yoga Poses

Second Chakra: Swadhisthana – Sacral chakra

Swadhisthana chakra represents the relationship you have with yourself, your body, your desires. This chakra is located below the navel and pubic bone.

Yoga poses for balancing this chakra are:

  • Cat pose
  • Cobra pose
  • Boat pose
  • Crescent Moon pose
  • Triangle pose

Third Chakra: Manipura – Solar plexus chakra

Manipura is a chakra that depicts your identity and strength. This chakra is responsible for your authority, control over emotions, and relationships with yourself and others. This chakra is located above the navel.

Yoga poses for balancing this chakra are:

  • Warrior I
  • Warrior II
  • Mountain pose
  • Cobra pose

Fourth Chakra: Anahata – Heart chakra

Anahata represents the ability to love, to provide unconditional love and compassion, and to receive it. Through Anahata, we learn to love ourselves and others. This chakra is located at the level of the heart.

Yoga poses for balancing this chakra are:

  • Camel pose
  • Fish pose
  • Pigeon pose
  • Bridge pose

Fifth Chakra: Vishuddha – Throat chakra

This chakra is a symbol of your expression. It is related to the ability to communicate and express oneself. This chakra is located parallel to the thyroid gland.

Yoga poses for balancing this chakra are:

  • Fish pose
  • Upward Plank pose
  • Shoulder stand

Sixth Chakra: Ajna – Third eye chakra

This chakra is in charge of high consciousness, intuition, and the balance between reason and intuition. This chakra is located between the eyebrows.

Yoga poses for balancing this chakra are:

  • Child’s pose
  • Wide-legged forward fold

Seventh Chakra: Sahasrara – Crown chakra

Sahasrara is associated with higher consciousness i.e. with the source itself (the energy of the Universe). This chakra is located on the top of the head.

Yoga poses for balancing this chakra are:

  • Rabbit pose
  • Headstand

Try these poses and get ready to feel the benefits they’ll bring.

Listen to the Post:


About the Author: Mia Martins

Hello, I'm Mia. I love sharing the peace and joy of yoga and meditation with those that I meet on my life journey. I love to inspire and motivate everyone around me. Many blessings of peace. Namaste.

You May Also Like